top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJess

Cultural Reflections: Food in New Zealand

Updated: Aug 20, 2019

During my semester abroad, I compiled a list of foods either unique to New Zealand or very common in the country. For each food (or drink), I've provided my thoughts on the taste.


L&P: a lemony carbonated drink. I don’t like carbonation so I wasn’t a fan of L&P.


Source: https://shop.countdown.co.nz/shop/productdetails?stockcode=148425&name=l-p-soft-drink-lemon-paeroa

Sausage: I don’t really like hot dogs, so I didn’t really like the “snag” as they say in NZ.


Fish n’ Chips: Fried food is nowhere near the top of my favorite foods list, but there were a couple of really good fish n’ chips places in New Zealand. However, I usually just ordered the “fish” because I don’t like fries. Fish n' Chips would come wrapped up in a bunch of paper so it was like unwrapping a present when you sat down to eat. If you just ordered fish, it would come in a paper bag like in the picture below.



Kumara: similar to a sweet potato, but with a bit more squash taste/texture. I like sweet potato and I liked kumara.


Whittaker’s Chocolate: New Zealand’s most popular brand of chocolate. Upon first trying their Dark Chocolate & Sea Salt Caramel bar, I thought Yum! but I didn’t notice a difference from, say, Ghirardelli. I should do a taste test when I’m back in the US.

Update: my favorite flavor is a Tip Top and Whittaker’s chocolate collaboration: Salted Maple Cashew Milk Chocolate bar. Believe me, it's SOOOOO GOOD.



Update: The Canadian inspired artisanal bar (maple syrup, waffle, pecans) is similar the previously mentioned flavor, but it’s not quite the same. What a shame that my favorite flavor is limited edition. :(

Update: still haven’t compared Whittaker’s to other US chocolates, but I have been thinking about it


Fired Mars Bar: a Mars bar that has been fried. For someone who doesn’t typically like fried foods, I was hesitatant (not to mention the atrocious nutritional content of such a food), but I can’t deny, the fried Mars bar was yummy! I still felt super unhealthy eating this warm, gooey mess of chocolate, nugget, and caramel).


Ice Cream from a Dairy: I tried ice cream from a couple dairies (flavors: sea salt caramel, boysenberry). It was alright, maybe even good, but nothing special.


Gelato: Most of the gelato I tried in NZ was the flavor sea salt caramel. Boy, was it GOOD. Maybe I just never had enough of it in the US or I’ve just been lucky with the places I’ve tried in NZ, but I am definitely a fan of their gelato.


Hokey Pokey ice cream/Hokey Pokey chocolate: ice cream or chocolate with honeycomb pieces (or imitation balls of sugar) in it. My take on hokey pokey flavored things: meh. I think it was a little over-hyped.


Tim Tams: chocolate cookie/biscuit covered in chocolate. They’re alright. I’d probably go with a chocolate bar instead.


Source: https://nzkevo.wordpress.com/2010/03/31/food/

Pineapple Lumps: gummy candy (pineapple flavored?) covered in chocolate. I didn’t care for the taste.


Source: https://www.newstalkzb.co.nz/news/pineapple-lumps-wont-be-disappearing-from-shelves-anytime-soon/

Meat pies: a savory pie filled with either meat and/or vegetables. They are delicious (if bought from the right place)! Warm and hearty, NZ pies make for a great snack or meal, especially if you’re on the go.



One Square Meal (OSM) bars: the bast way I can describe them is probably by saying OSM bars are New Zealand’s version of a Cliff Bar (although Cliff Bars are sold in some stores). My opinion: yum! I really like these bars, but I’m wondering if I’ll get sick of them soon..

Update: I didn’t get sick of them and ended up bringing two boxes along with a 1 kg bag home…


Source: http://www.marxdesign.co.nz/osm/

Fejoas (fruit): I now understand why the locals have trouble describing them! About the size of a kiwi fruit, fejoas are interesting. For texture (NOT TASTE) imagine a pear with a tomato center. The taste was sweet and strong, but I honestly can’t think of words to describe it further. They are pretty good, but they aren’t my new favorite fruit or anything. I’ve had three since the season started and I think I’ve had my fill.



Pavloava: ok, not much to say


Fergburger (the burger to eat when visiting Queenstown): I thought the burger was delicious and it lives up to the hype in my opinion! Even my family approved when they visited me at the end of the semester.


Source: My friend, Sydney

ANZAC biscuits: basically oatmeal cookies with coconut used to celebrate ANZAC day which honors the Australian and New Zealand soldiers in WWI. Oats and coconut are two foods I love but somehow I never thought to put them together. I enjoyed these treats (not much of a surprise though)!



Other foods that tasted great:


Ambrosia apples: I will be sad to leave this country knowing that these apples are only available here. They are crisp like Honeycrisp apples, but sweeter/less tangy in my opinion. Ambrosia apples have replaced Honeycrisp as my favorite type of apple.


Hummus: I was indifferent about hummus before, but after trying a few flavors/brands in NZ, I decided I really like hummus. NZ has a strong hummus game with many brands boasting a large variety of flavors ranging from lemon-garlic to pumpkin-kumara to beetroot.

Update: The US brands of hummus I thought I enjoyed do not taste the same, what happened?? I would almost say it tastes bad, no wonder I wasn’t a huge fan before! Well, I’m now on a mission to find good hummus…

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page