top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJess

Good-bye Park City! I'll miss you.

Updated: Feb 6, 2019

I'm sure many of you reading this have heard my spiel about this trip, but I thought it would be good to quickly summarize what's going on. Monday, February 4th marks the day I'll begin my journey from Park City, Utah, to Christchurch, New Zealand. The city is located in the middle of the South Island (see photo below) which is where I will study at the University of Canterbury for a semester. I'll fly back to the U.S. in early July.


Source: Google (https://www.google.com/maps)

While I'm super excited for this experience, I must first admit I'm going to miss my hometown, especially since this winter is a good one. I decided to spend my extra-long winter break working at a ski resort and wow, did I enjoy it. From witnessing sunrises over snow-capped peaks to skiing almost everyday during the month of January, I rediscovered my love for snow, skiing, and winter in Park City. Seriously, I'm considering the possibility of taking a couple years after college to work in the ski industry!


Anyway, I've been asked to write a little bit about my pre-trip expectations, so here we go:


New Zealand. Home of kiwis and stunning landscapes. First and foremost, I expect to do a lot of hiking tramping in the South Island. By exploring the natural environment on my own adventures as well as through a land ethics course, I hope to learn more about the relationship between New Zealanders and nature. I’ll probably compare it to the United States. For instance, how do national parks in New Zealand differ from those in the US? Another expectation for studying abroad is becoming familiar with all three types of kiwis: the people, the bird, and the fruit. Right now, I can’t say I like the fruit, but maybe that will change? I do know I’m looking forward to meeting the people. I’ve met a few New Zealanders so far and they have all been very kind and willing to answer my questions about their home country what to do while I’m abroad. By meeting people from different cultures and being immersed in New Zealand culture, I expect to better understand what it means to be American. It can be hard to know some aspect of your life is unique to your culture when it’s all you’ve ever know. Learning more about myself during this experience is something I look forward to.


From my understanding, the country is not really known for its food, but I have heard the seafood is amazing (not surprising) and people have recommended I try fish and chips. In general, I’ve heard the food is fresh and healthy which I can’t wait to see for myself. Additionally, I’m very curious about the difference between Australian and New Zealand accents. I hope to figure this out before the end of the semester. In regards to language, I can't wait to learn New Zealand slang (i.e. hiking = tramping, trails = tracks) while deciphering the Kiwi accent!


Well, that's it for now!


Cheers!

Jess

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page