top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJess

Jandals for a Week


Hey all!


You may have read about my blisters in previous posts, but if not, here's a recap: I bought hiking boots before I left and didn't test them out enough prior to leaving the country. I know, dumb move. A little over a week ago, I went on a six mile hike in my new boots. It was only a day hike, so I figured it would be a good time to try the boots. Unfortunately, I made the mistake of not bringing back up shoes. Nor did I bring any tape to fix hot spots. By the time I peeled off my socks at the end of the day, the damage was already done. Blisters the size of quarters had formed and broken, leaving me with very tender heels.


My solution was to slap Band Aids over the blisters and wear flip flops (or jandals as Kiwis say) as often as possible. I broke that goal when I went tramping again a few days later, but then classes started on Monday and since its summer in the southern hemisphere, my plan went surprisingly well. I'm happy to say that after five days of strictly jandals or bare feet, my blisters have come a long way. While not completely healed, they felt fine on yesterday's short hike (in trail running shoes). There were also no issues when I went running in sneakers this morning so I think I'm on the mend!


Cheers,

Jess

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page