top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJess

Mid-Semester Break!

Updated: Apr 28, 2019

Fun fact, the University of Canterbury gives students a thee week break during Semester 1! I think the reason is because Easter Sunday changes each year and three weeks is deemed long enough to include the holiday.


In an attempt to be a responsible student, I figured I spend the first two weeks traveling and the last week working on academics. Since a couple of the things I had planned were only booked for one person (more on this later), I decided to travel alone for the whole time (however, I was often in groups of around 20 hikers so it wasn't really that alone). Even though I had come to New Zealand on my own, a two-week solo trip seemed different. I was soooo nervous and stressed the weak leading up to the trip. Between midterms and packing and last-minute bookings, I started doubting if the trip was a good idea. The feeling persisted even as I boarded my flight from Christchurch to Queenstown. However, the first few days of travel quickly eased the stress away with excitement taking its place. I realized how lucky I was to be in New Zealand visiting some of the most beautiful landscapes the country had to offer!


Here is a summary of where I went and what I did:


I flew from Christchurch to Queenstown and immediately took a bus to Te Anau. I hiked around there before taking a cruise into Doubtful Sound. Then I hiked from the edge of Lake Te Anau into Milford Sound which was followed by a couple days driving and hiking between Milford Sound and Te Anau. I left Te Anau and took a bus to Queenstown where I spent my last two days before flying back to Christchurch. All of this is outlined in the picture below.



More Details on Each Place:


Te Anau


Kepler Track: Three-night, four-day hike covering 60km in a loop starting and ending in Te Anau. The highlight of this track is it's alpine views (pictured below). I stayed in a hut each night so I could avoid carrying a tent and sleeping mat.



Doubtful Sound: I took a short rest from hiking by going on an overnight cruise through Doubtful Sound. Less visited than Milford Sound, Doubtful Sound is a stunning and peaceful fiord. We enjoyed a nice sunset and the next morning, a few dolphins made an appearance, swimming with the boat to the delight of the passengers.




Milford Sound


Of course, I couldn't pass up the opportunity to photograph the iconic Mitre Peak! This was actually my taken on the last morning of my stay in Milford Sound, but I thought it would be a good way to begin the section.



Milford Track: Another three-night, four-day hike covering 53km (33.5 mi) from Lake Te Anau to Milford Sound. If you’re not familiar with New Zealand’s Great Walks, this is the most popular one, often selling out minutes after hut tickets are released a year in advance. I had been warned about this, but it was too difficult for me to make plans so far into the future. However, I learned that groups sometimes cancel their reservations, creating openings typically for 1-3 people. I began to check the track’s availability frequently, hoping a spot would free up during my break. The first time I noticed an opening, I thought about it too long and missed my chance. When another opening showed up on the calendar, I was quick to make a reservation! This was maybe a month in advance and I felt super lucky to snag a spot!



Gertrude Saddle: A difficult track recommended for experienced trampers which takes you up steep, rocky inclines and over very smooth rock faces that become extremely dangerous in wet weather. Some sections have a long cable to assist trampers. Fortunately, the weather had been (and was still) sunny and dry so the conditions were perfect. Looking down into the fiords from the top of the saddle was incredible!



Lake Marian: I thought I would try to catch Lake Marian when the lighting would be soft and the winds minimal. It is an alpine lake that takes about 1 ½ hours to get to from the trailhead. Unfortunately, I didn’t get started early enough and when I did get there a little after 8am, a layer of clouds blocked the view of the mountain tops. It was serene and mysterious, but not quite what I was hoping for.



Stops along the scenic Milford Highway: There is so much to see driving between Te Anau and Milford Sound! I stopped at a few awesome viewpoints.


Eglinton Valley

Mirror Lakes

Lake Gunn

Queenstown


Surprisingly, no adventure activities! I just walked around and tried out some of the popular restaurants (like Fergburger!). I also took the bus and spent a few hours in Arrowtown looking at the trees and their autumn colors.


Arrowtown in Autumn

Queenstown at Night

After two weeks, I returned to campus with good stories, great memories, and over 1,500 pictures! I was getting a little worn out towards the end so I think it was a good time to recharge, but already I want to get back out there! There is just so much left to see! Hopefully, I can stay on top of my assignments and take a couple weekend trips before the semester ends :)


Cheers,

Jess

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page